A Hebrew Roots Midrash

A HEBREW MIDRASH ON THE TWO HOUSES OF ISRAEL;

A “Prodigal Son” tale of end times restoration, in the Hebrew Roots style.

 Lukas Gospel, in chapter 15, tells the prophetic tale of the restoration of the Two Houses of Israel in the Acharit Hayamim, the end of the age. Yeshua has been looking for the lost sheep of the Northern kingdom of Israel that he has desired to restore from their Diaspora of about 2,720 years or so. But, He knows where we are, and He tells us a midrashic tale such that we may be informed of his heart on the matter.

 (Mat 15:24)  He [Yeshua] said, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of the house of Isra’el.”

 This saying of Yeshua is a real shock to those Replacement Theology advocates who say that the Church is not Israel but has replaced Israel [the Jews] as I have heard on many occasions from Christian Pastors and other Church leaders. I have sat through many sermons on the “Prodigal son” and not one of them saw what Yeshua intended in this classic Hebrew Midrash spoken on one of Yeshua’s favorite themes, which is the full restoration of the 12 tribes of Covenant Israel during the last days of this present age. At present, the Protestant understanding, presentation and interpretation of this story is limited to the traditional Catholic presentation of a wayward and backslidden son of the Catholic or Protestant Church returning to the Bosom of the Church, represented by the benevolent father in which the other Churchgoing son remains. The other sons response to the return makes no sense at all, because jealousy and anger are not scriptural attitudes and attributes to be displayed by anyone within the church system, as those characteristics are SIN, which has no place in believers. The story falls apart on this point as the father gives a pass to the homeboy, without addressing or correcting the SINS of the son that stayed “on the farm”, so to speak. Therefore, the traditional Christian story’s base assumption of the backslidden son vs the home dwelling son, holds no water in light of Scripture, but is a Bubbe Mysehs, a lying granny tale! The real Midrashic tale told by Yeshua/Jesus is about the Two Houses of Israel, both of them who sinned and were taken to the woodshed at various times and then both were restored when YHWH’s hidden agenda was accomplished through the two Diasporas of both houses. When Orthodox and Talmud Judaism declare that there is no longer any Northern Kingdom of Israel; only Judah [the Jews], they blow the whole picture of God’s redemptive purpose also, by throwing their brother Israel into limbo.

 Isaiah 11:13 blows the Christian version by saying:

 Efrayim’s jealousy will cease — those who harass Y’hudah will be cut off, Efrayim will stop envying Y’hudah, and Y’hudah will stop provoking Efrayim.

 The second of many witnesses plus many more that support the restoration of the Two Houses of Israel in a Midrash as Yeshua has intended”:

 Ezekiel 36 says:

 “Therefore I poured out my fury on them, because of the blood they had shed in the land and because they defiled it with their idols. I scattered them among the nations and dispersed them throughout the countries; I judged them in keeping with their manner of life and actions. When they came to the nations they were going to, they profaned my holy name; so that people said of them, ‘These are Yahweh’s people, who have been exiled from his land.’ But I am concerned about my holy name, which the house of Isra’el is profaning among the nations where they have gone. “Therefore tell the house of Isra’el that Yahweh Elohim says this: ‘I am not going to do this for your sake, house of Isra’el, but for the sake of my holy name, which you have been profaning among the nations where you went. I will set apart my great name to be regarded as holy, since it has been profaned in the nations — you profaned it among them. The nations will know that I am Yahweh,’ says Yahweh Elohim, ‘when, before their eyes, I am set apart through you to be regarded as holy.

For I will take you from among the nations, gather you from all the countries, and return you to your own soil. Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your uncleanness and from all your idols. I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit inside you; I will take the stony heart out of your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. I will put my Spirit inside you and cause you to live by my laws, respect my rulings and obey them.

You will live in the land I gave to your ancestors. You will be my people, and I will be your God. I will save you from all your uncleanliness. I will summon the grain and increase it, and not send famine against you. I will multiply the yield of fruit from the trees and increase production in the fields, so that you never again suffer the reproach of famine among the nations. Then you will remember your evil ways and your actions that were not good, as you look at yourselves, you will loathe yourselves for your guilt and disgusting practices. Understand,’ says Yahweh Elohim, ‘that I am not doing this for your sake. Instead, be ashamed and dismayed for your ways, house of Isra’el.’ “Yahweh Elohim says, ‘When the day comes for me to cleanse you from all your guilt, I will cause the cities to be inhabited and the ruins to be rebuilt. The land that was desolate will be tilled, whereas formerly it lay desolate for all passing by to see. Then they will say, “The land that used to be desolate has become like Gan-`Eden, and the cities formerly ruined, abandoned and wasted have been fortified and are inhabited!” Then the nations around you that remain will know that I, Yahweh, have rebuilt the ruins and replanted what was abandoned. I, Yahweh, have spoken; and I will do it.’ “Yahweh Elohim says, ‘In addition, I will let the house of Isra’el pray to me to do this for them: to increase their numbers like sheep — like flocks of sheep for sacrifices, like the flocks of sheep in Yerushalayim at its designated times, in this degree will the ruined cities be filled with flocks of people. Then they will know that I am Yahweh.’ “

“Then say to them that Yahweh Elohim says: ‘I will take the people of Isra’el from among the nations where they have gone and gather them from every side and bring them back to their own land.

I will make them one nation in the land, on the mountains of Isra’el; and one king will be king for all of them. They will no longer be two nations, and they will never again be divided into two kingdoms.”

This is the TWO HOUSE END TIMES RESTORATION!!

 Here is the Lukan 15 story of the “Prodigal” son:

 Again Yeshua said, “A man had two sons. [Judah and Israel/Ephraim]. The younger of them [Israel] said to his father, ‘Father, give me the share of the estate that will be mine.’ So the father divided the property between them. As soon as he could convert his share into cash, the younger son left home and went off to a distant country, where he squandered his money in reckless living. But after he had spent it all, a severe famine arose throughout that country, and he began to feel the pinch. “So he went and attached himself to one of the citizens of that country, who sent him into his fields to feed pigs [unkosher garbage eaters].

Remember what happened to the tribe of Gad [the Gadarenes for the scripturally challenged] and how Yeshua treated the pigs, a forbidden non-food, by drowning them in the sea? Oink no more, miss piggy. He longed to fill his stomach with the carob pods [unkosher veggies] the pigs were eating, but no one gave him any. “At last he came to his senses and said, ‘any number of my father’s hired workers have food to spare; and here I am, starving to death! I’m going to get up and go back to my father and say to him, “Father, I have sinned against Heaven and against you; I am no longer worthy to be called your son; treat me like one of your hired workers.” ‘ So he got up and started back to his father. “But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was moved with pity. He ran and threw his arms around him and kissed him warmly. His son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against Heaven and against you; I am no longer worthy to be called your son — ‘

This is called Repentance, Bible fans.

But his father said to his slaves, ‘Quick, bring out a robe, the best one, and put it on him; and put a ring on his finger and shoes on his feet; and bring the calf that has been fattened up, and kill it. Let’s eat and have a celebration! For this son of mine [Israel] was dead, but now he’s alive again! He was lost, but now he has been found!’ And they began celebrating. “Now his older son [Judah] was in the field. As he came close to the house, he heard music and dancing. So he called one of the servants and asked, ‘What’s going on?’ The servant told him, ‘Your brother has come back, and your father has slaughtered the calf that was fattened up, because he has gotten him back safe and sound.’ But the older son became angry and refused to go inside. “So his father came out and pleaded with him.

Judah continues in this unholy anger today, by denying Israel even exists and also denying that Yeshua is Messiah.

‘Look,’ the son answered, ‘I have worked for you all these years, and I have never disobeyed your orders. But you have never even given me a young goat, so that I could celebrate with my friends. Yet this son of yours comes, who squandered your property with prostitutes, and for him you slaughter the fattened calf!’ ‘Son, you are always with me,’ said the father, ‘and everything I have is yours.

 The irrevocable promises are to both Judah and to Israel, the Two Houses.

We had to celebrate and rejoice, because this brother of yours [Israel, the House of Joseph] was dead but has come back to life — he was lost but has been found.’ “

 Psalms 60 and 108: Gil‘ad is mine and M’nasheh mine, Efrayim my helmet, and Y’hudah my scepter. Mo’av is my washpot; on Edom I throw my shoe;

 P’leshet (Philistine), be crushed because of me!”

 1st Timothy 1: As I counseled you when I was leaving for Macedonia, stay on in Ephesus, so that you may order certain people who are teaching a different doctrine to stop. Have them stop devoting their attention to myths and never-ending genealogies; these divert people to speculating instead of doing God’s work, which requires trust. The purpose of this order is to promote love from a clean heart, from a good conscience and from sincere trust. Some, by aiming amiss, have wandered off into fruitless discussion. They want to be teachers of Torah, but they understand neither their own words nor the matters about which they make such emphatic pronouncements. We know that the Torah is good, provided one uses it in the way the Torah itself intends.

 What part of the coming restoration of Covenant Israel do you not understand?

 Walking on the Emmaus road,

James Talbott,

Yeshua HaTikvah Yisrael Ministries

11 thoughts on “A Hebrew Roots Midrash

  1. I’m really inspired along with your writing skills and also with the format on your weblog.
    Is that this a paid topic or did you modify it your self?
    Anyway keep up the nice high quality writing, it is rare to look a nice weblog like this one today..

Leave a Reply

